11th Screen Nation Film and Television Awards 2016 Winners List

Hosted by Brenda Emmanus (BBC London News Arts Correspondent) and Kojo (comedian and ITV2 Love Fix presenter), the much-anticipated annual Screen Nation Film & Television Awards took place on Saturday 19th March 2016 at the prestigious Hilton London Metropole hotel. The​ lavish evening ​celebrated outstanding achievements on the British screen and was attended by film and TV actors, actresses and directors; plus musicians and many of the nation’s best loved celebrities and stars including:

Alison Hammond​ (Strictly Come Dancing), ​Ainsley Harriott, Arnold Ocen​g (The Good Lie), ​Beverley Knight ​(The Bodyguard musical/singer), ​Bonnie Greer​, ​Cecilia Noble​ (Danny and the Human Zoo)​, ​Charlene White ​(ITN News)​, Danny John Jules (Death in Paradise), Danny Sapani (Penny Dreadful), Charles Venn (Casualty), Denise Lewis, Eleanor Fanyinka ​(Holby City)​, Geff Francis ​(Holby City) Jermain Jackman, John Boyega (Star Wars), Joivan Wade​ (Dr Who)​, ​Osy Ikhile ​(Mission Impossible)​, ​OT Fagbenle ​(The Interceptor)​, ​Simon Webbe, Sinitta​ and many more.

The Screen Nation Executive Committee bestowed this year’s leading honour; the Outstanding Contribution Award upon iconic African-American action star Wesley Snipes. Honoured with the highly prized Edric Connor Trailblazer Award went to the legendary and Desmond’s fame actress, Carmen Munroe whose acting career extends over half a century and has broken many racial barriers.

A slew of Classic Movie awards were presented honours for their 25th anniversaries – Boyz n Da Hood, Mo’ Better Blues and New Jack City were matched by two strikingly different female ensemble classics that hit their 20 year milestone – Waiting to Exhale and Set it Off. Each classic movie was directed by and featured talent, who had gone on to become Hollywood’s biggest names. Babylon set the Classic Movie standard for the UK in its 35th anniversary year.


  • Outstanding Contribution WESLEY SNIPES
  • Edric Connor Trailblazer CARMEN MUNROE
  • Classic Film (UK) BABYLON
  • Classic Film (Intl.) MO’ BETTER BLUES
  • Classic Film (Intl.) THE FIVE HEARTBEATS
  • Classic Film (Intl.) NEW JACK CITY
  • Classic Film (Intl.) WAITING TO EXHALE
  • Emerging Talent Anthony Welsh – various
  • Rising Star Malachi Kirby – Jekyll & Hyde, Dough
  • Favourite Female TV Personality Alison Hammond – Strictly Come Dancing
  • Favourite Male TV Personality Charles Venn – Casualty
  • Female Performance in Film Nathalie Emmanuel – Fast & Furious 7, Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials
  • Male Performance in Film John Boyega – Star Wars
  • Female Performance in TV Cecilia Noble – Danny and the Human Zoo
  • Male Performance in TV Kascion Franklin – Danny and the Human Zoo
  • Diversity in Factual Production Britain’s Forgotten Slave Owners – BBC
  • Diversity in Drama Production The Interceptor – BBC
  • Independent Spirit Film Production Looking for Love – Menelik Shabbaz
  • Achievement in Film Production The Hard Stop – George Amponsah/Dionne Walker
  • Favourite International Movie (made by or featuring British talent) Beasts of No Nation – Idris Elba, AmaK Abebrese, Jude Akuwudike
  • Favourite African UK Movie (made by or featuring significantly British based talent) The Cursed Ones – Nana Obiri-Yeboah & Maximilian Claussen
  • Favourite Comedy Production Chewing Gum – E4
  • Favourite Grime Music Promo Lady Leshurr – Queens Speech 4
  • Favourite Film (African Intl) Beasts of No Nation
  • Favourite Male Screen Personality (African Intl) Oris Erhuero
  • Favourite Female Screen Personality (African Intl) Gayle Ngozi Thompson-Igwebike

Latest articles

Related articles