Out Of Africa: Five African Authors Longlisted For The 2024 Jhalak Prize

The Jhalak Prize has announced the longlist for its 2024 edition, with five African authors getting the nod.

In announcing the books that made the cut, the organisers were effusive in their praise for the longlisted authors.

“Delighted to announce the longlists for Jhalak Prize…each of these books is a literary gem, to be admired, loved and treasured forever. Our immense gratitude to the writers, creatives, publishers for bringing us this treasure trove!”,  they stated via the Prize’s official Instagram account.

The five African books on the full longlist of twelve include:

River Spirit by Leila Aboulela (Saqi Books)

Azucar by Nii Ayikwwei Parkes (Peepal Tree Press)

Small Worlds by Caleb Azumah Nelson (Penguin)

Anansi’s Gold: The Man Who Swindled The World by Yepoka Yeebo (Bloomsbury)

Twelve Words for Moss by Elizabeth Jane Burnett (Penguin)

First launched in March 2017, the Jhalak Prize seek to celebrate books by British/British resident Black and Middle Eastern writers. The prize is unique in that it accepts entries published in the UK by writers of colour. These include (and are not limited to) fiction, non-fiction, short stories, graphic novels, poetry and all other genres.

The Jhalak Prize awards £1000 to each winner, along with a unique work of art created by artists chosen for the annual Jhalak Art Residency. Furthermore, all short-listed authors receive a one-year complimentary membership of The London Library, the UK’s largest independent library. Each winner receives a two-year complimentary membership.

The judges for this year’s edition of the Jhalak Prize are Anni Domingo, Stella Oni, Denise Saul, Danielle Jawando, J.P Rose and Rashmi Sirdeshpande. The winner of the Prize will be announced on 30th May 2024.


Latest articles

Related articles