Out Of Africa: Four African Films Nominated For The 2024 Sony Future Filmmaker Awards

Organisers of the Sony Future Filmmaker Awards have unveiled the nominations for its 2024 edition, and four African films made the list.

The four works are part of a shortlist comprising 30 films, chosen from over 8,400 submissions by more than 5,000 filmmakers across 148 countries and territories.

The African nominees include:

  • Ìrún Dídì (Olawunmi Hassan, Nigeria) – From traditional Yoruba techniques to modern interpretations, the film traces the evolution of the timeless art of hair plaiting, as it becomes a sacred ritual of self-care and empowerment;

  • The Permaculturist (Curtis Essel, Ghana) – Vegan chef, permaculture enthusiast, and content creator Gaz Oakley meets permaculture expert Bemeriki Dusabe, a Congolese refugee who has been living in a settlement in Uganda for the last 16 years;
  • Anguish (Raheem Razak, South Africa) – In what seems to be a zombie-infested world, devoted son Sam must tend to his zombie mother while surviving the apocalypse himself;
  • ABOVE/ZERO (Rana Ramy, Egypt) – A journey through the relationship between light, space, and subject, in an attempt to configure one’s existence within the light;

Established by Creo and sponsored by Sony, the Sony Future Filmmaker Awards is a major annual awards program for short films devoted to supporting and elevating independent filmmakers and creators from across the globe. Winners receive cash prizes and a range of Sony Digital Imaging equipment. Free to enter, the Awards comprise six categories: Fiction, Non-Fiction, Environment, Student, Animation and Future Format, and are judged by a panel of leading figures. 

Ìrún Dídì was nominated in the Non-Fiction category, The Permaculturist was nominated in the Environment category, Anguish was one of the student films shortlisted, and ABOVE/ZERO emerged in the Future Format shortlist.

Scott Gray, Founder and CEO, Creo, stated: “With a staggering 8,400 films submitted this year, the caliber of entries received for this second edition of the Sony Future Filmmaker Awards and the shortlist of filmmakers selected express the exceptional, global stories set to be showcased at this year’s event. We are grateful to Sony for providing this incredible opportunity for emerging filmmakers, and we extend our gratitude to our esteemed panel of judges for their invaluable expertise and insight in selecting the shortlist to join us in Los Angeles this May.”

This year’s jury will be chaired by award-winning director Justin Chadwick, and includes Michael Barker and Tom Bernard (co-founders and co-presidents of Sony Pictures Classics),  BAFTA award-winning cinematographer Rob Hardy, and acclaimed British cinematographer Kate Reid.

All nominees will participate in a week of special events at the Sony Pictures Studios lot in Los Angeles, including a workshop program providing unparalleled access behind the scenes of the industry and culminating in the Awards ceremony on 30 May, 2024 where the six category winners will be announced.

Visit the Award’s official website to learn more about the shortlisted films.


Latest articles

Related articles