Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2017 Open for Submissions. Deadline 5th June 2017

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has launched its sixth search for original plays and announced a judging panel of top industry figures from stage, screen and journalism.

The biennial Prize is a partnership between the Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester and property company, Bruntwood and highlights the importance of new writing for theatre and the value of nurturing playwrights and their craft. The Prize is an opportunity for writers of any background and experience to enter unperformed plays into Europe’s largest playwriting competition.

British broadcaster and journalist Kirsty Lang will chair the 2017 judging panel, she will be joined by  the award-winning screenwriter Russell T. Davies (Queer as Folk, C4; Doctor Who, BBC), previous Bruntwood Prize winner Phil Porter (The Miser, West End; Vice Versa, RSC; The Cracks in my Skin, Royal Exchange Theatre), stage and screen writer Lucy Prebble (The Effect, National Theatre; Enron, Royal Court, Chichester Festival Theatre, West End & Broadway), Director Lyndsey Turner (Hamlet, Barbican; Chimerica, Almeida; Posh, Royal Court & West End and Associate Director of the National Theatre), award-winning actor Don Warrington (King Lear, Royal Exchange Theatre & BBC Four; Death in Paradise, BBC), and Royal Exchange Theatre Associate Artistic Director, Matthew Xia. Chairman of Bruntwood, Michael Oglesby CBE completes the distinguished panel.

  • All scripts are judged anonymously by a team of skilled readers – the final ten will be judged by this expert judging panel.
  • Each of the winners will enter into a development process with the Royal Exchange Theatre.
  • The winning scripts, will be announced at an awards ceremony in Manchester this November.
  • The total prize fund is £40,000

Submission Guidelines:

  • Scripts must be submitted anonymously under a pseudonym.
  • The competition is open to anyone over the age of sixteen, in the British Isles.
  • Entries to be submitted online. No paper entries will be considered within the judging process.
  • Scripts must be submitted by the writer themselves and not by an agent or any other third party.
    The play must an original, unperformed and unproduced piece of work.
  • The play must be an hour long or more in playing time.
  • The submitted play must be available for production and unattached to any other theatre or company.

Since beginning in 2005 the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has grown to be the largest playwriting competition in Europe and has provided a launch pad for many of the UK’s top playwrights including: Duncan Macmillan (1984, People, Places and Things, Monster), Alistair McDowall (Brilliant Adventures, X), Vivienne Franzmann (Mogadishu) and Anna Jordan (Yen).

Katherine Soper, 2015 winner of the Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting said: “The prize has given me opportunities I could never have imagined, and given me so much more confidence as a writer.”
The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting is delighted to work in partnership with Nick Hern Books, The Kenyon Institute, The Banff Centre and The National Theatre Studio who all provide winning writers with development opportunities.

Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting 2017 deadline 5th June 2017

Entries must be uploaded via the website here  – where aspiring writers can also access workshops and video tutorials from theatre industry experts.


Latest articles

Related articles