never forget film launches in honour of national Stephen Lawrence Day.

Ahead of Stephen Lawrence Day on Thursday 22th April 2021, is the launch of the Never Forget Stephen Lawrence campaign.

Bringing together over 70 figures from the worlds of music, film, television, sport, politics, and fashion in a 3-minute short film which will launch in full later this month and show support for the work of the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation and help shine a spotlight on the life and legacy of Stephen Lawrence.

Never Forget Stephen Lawrence is directed, produced, and written by Simon Frederick and Marcus Jones Narrated by Max Cyrus in support of the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation. The film is a new version of a short film that was released in October 2020, filmed, produced, directed, and edited by Simon Frederick & Marcus Jones, and includes many of the original contributors alongside a host of new contributors many of whom were filmed for the new edit, by Max Cyrus in accordance with COVID safety guidelines.

Never Forget Stephen Lawrence has a national media campaign which began on Friday 9th April and leading up to Stephen Lawrence Day which is marked officially in the British calendar every 22nd April, commemorating the anniversary of Stephen’s death. The day is an opportunity to celebrate Stephen’s life, to educate young people about the significance of his legacy and highlight the ongoing work of the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation – the charity founded by Stephen’s mother Hon. Baroness Lawrence.

Baroness Doreen Lawrence, founder of the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation commented: “The events of 2020: – George Floyd’s death and the subsequent resurgence of the Black Lives Matter movement, along with societal inequalities exposed and exacerbated by COVID has made us reflect on how we engage with our communities. This brought a sharp focus on what I want to be achieved in Stephen’s name. I want Stephen Lawrence Day to be a reflective learning experience, and a celebration and a journey toward greater equality and inclusion for all.”

In Never Forget Stephen Lawrence the contributors are filmed reciting the powerful poem narrated by Max Cyrus. Cyrus’ idea for the newly edited film was to bring together the people he felt Stephen would have watched, listened to and been inspired by, had he been alive today, alongside figures who help to promote diversity and inclusion within British society and who have been key champions throughout the family’s 28-year fight for justice.

Hon Stuart Lawrence, brother of Stephen Lawrence commented: “I hope that the film and campaign will inspire and enthuse the next generation of young people to understand their self-value and contributions that they can make for their families and the community at large no matter what they look like or where they start in life, it’s about where they finish.”

The film is part of a programme of events organised by the Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation, which on the day itself will include morning Assemblies with Ambassador schools; a series of webinars with partners such as Community Union and a Stephen Lawrence Day Foundation Exhibition that will be displayed throughout Brixton Village as the only physical representation for the day. There are also some planned announcements for several significant partnerships for the Foundation and its initiatives.

Stephen Lawrence was murdered on 22 April 1993, at the age of 18, in an unprovoked racist attack.

The complete list of contributors in the full length film are as follows: Aicha McKenzie, Aker Okoye, Alex Beresford, Alex Garlitos, Angela Griffin, Anne-Marie, Arlo Parks, Baroness Doreen Lawrence, Baroness Valerie Amos, Benjamin Zephaniah, Beverley Knight MBE, Celeste, Charlie O’Connor, Darcus Beese OBE, David Lammy, David Gyasi, Denise Lewis OBE, DJ Spoony, Ed Sheeran MBE, Enny, Fekky, Georgia Curtis, Goldie MBE, Gundeep Anand, Gordon Brown, Hussain Manawer, Ian Wright MBE, Idris Elba OBE, Isaac Chamberlain, Jacqui Beckford, Javone Prince, Jay Blades, Jessica Creighton, Jimmy Akingbola, Jordan Benjamin, Judith Jacob, K-Triggz, Kojey Radical, Kwame Kwei-Armah OBE, Lady Emma Weymouth, Lamia Qahtan, Leon Herbert, Sir Lewis Hamilton, Lucie Eaton, Mahalia, Maisie Aires, Mary Mandefield, Max Cyrus, Maya Jama, Michael Crevier, Noel Clarke, Omar Lyefook, Ortis Deley, Patrick Hutchinson, Rabbi Herschel Gluck OBE, Richard Riakporhe, Rob Hallett, Rochelle Richards, Rose Hudson-Wilkin MBE, QHC, Rui Lui, Sereena Abbassi, Siannae Anderson, Simon Frederick, Sir Keir Starmer, Sir Trevor McDonald, Skeem, Speech Debelle, Stuart Lawrence, Suzette Llewellyn, Tiffany Calver, Trevor Georges, Trevor Nelson MBE, William Gilbert and Yinka Bokinni.

For more information visit: Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

#SLDay21 #StephenLawrenceDay #BecauseOfStephen #ALegacyOfChange


Latest articles

Related articles