TBB’s RECOMMENDED READS FOR FEBRUARY

From promising debuts to crime thrillers, there are plenty of new releases to get excited about in 2022. 

Wahala by Nikki May

Ronke, Boo, and Simi are three friends in their thirties, who spend their days worrying about their futures. When an old friend, Isobel, re-enters their lives, chaos, or ‘wahala’ ensues. Friendships are tested and old crimes are reckoned with in this hilarious and explosive debut by Nikki May. 

It has also been announced that Wahala will be adapted into a BBC television series by Theresa Ikoko, who describes the story as ‘Big Little Lies meets Girlfriends meets Peckham’. 

Praise for Wahala:

‘Wahala is mainly a social novel crossed with a comedy of manners, with fabulous Anglo-Nigerians in the lead. Luckily, that’s a compelling blend.’ — NPR

‘‘Wahala’ is a solid, slow-burn, page-turning mystery.‘ — The Independent 


Uncommon Wealth: Britain and the Aftermath of Empire by Kojo Koram

A study of decolonisation and the legacy of the British Empire, Uncommon Wealth highlights how Britain continued to profit from and exploit its former colonial ‘dependencies’. Koram explores the history of decolonisation and how these wealth disparities remain pertinent to today’s society. 

Koram is a Law Lecturer at Birkbeck School of Law, University of London, and he writes for publications alongside his academic work. He edited The War on Drugs and the Global Colour Line in 2019, which detailed the need for drug law reforms across the world. 

Praise for Uncommon Wealth:

Brilliantly arranged and rich with fresh insights, Uncommon Wealth reminds us how the forgotten stories of empire and decolonisation continue to impact our daily lives in Britain – and throughout the world – up to today.’ — Akala

A bold and brazen account of the economic afterlives of the British Empire.’ —Imaobong Umoren, LSE

Uncommon Wealth will be published on 17th February 2022. Uncommon Wealth is available for pre-order on Hive and other online retailers and bookshops.


When We Were Birds by Ayanna Lloyd Banwo

Set in and around Port Angeles, Trinidad, the novel follows Darwin, a gravedigger, and Yejide, who has the power to communicate with the dead. Fusing the contemporary world with the mythical and magical, this novel has already attracted plenty of attention from critics and authors alike. A magical story of loss, grief that spans generations, and hope, When We Were Birds is Ayanna Lloyd Banwo’s debut novel.

Ayanna Lloyd Banwo is a writer from Trinidad & Tobago living in London. She is currently studying for a Creative and Critical Writing PhD at the University of East Anglia.

For fans of Arundhati Roy, Gabriel García Márquez and Toni Morrison, this novel is not to be missed. 

Praise for When We Were Birds:

It’s a knockout, and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo is a star. I want to read everything she writes.‘ — Niven Govinden 

Ayanna Lloyd Banwo’s voice is haunting, and When We Were Birds is a novel of exquisite detail that opens up the liminal space between folklore and the world we inhabit.’ — Avni Doshi, author of Burnt Sugar


Black Cake by Charmaine Wilkerson 

A debut by American author Charmaine Wilkerson, Black Cake opens with a voice recording left by Eleanor Bennett for her children after death, and her recipe for Caribbean black cake. Inheriting the secrets of their mother, estranged siblings, Byron and Benny, seek out the truth behind a young woman’s hasty flight from her island home. Black Cake delves into the complicated familial relationships which are deepened by secrets and healed by truths. 

Before its publication release, Oprah Winfrey’s TV production company acquired the rights to develop the novel into a Hulu series. 

Praise for Black Cake

A story as meaningful as it is delicious. At turns delightfully juicy and then stunningly wise, Black Cake is a winner.’ — Taylor Jenkins Reid

The scenes are so well drawn I could almost taste the cake. My heart broke and was put back together. Bravo‘— Nikki May, author of Wahala


The Gosling Girl by Jacqueline Roy

Roy’s new thriller, The Gosling Girl, follows protagonist Michelle’s life after her release from prison for a childhood crime. However, Michelle’s new identity does not afford her with a fresh start. When another death occurs, Michelle is brought in for questioning. Media sensationalism and judicial prejudice impacted her case in the past and continues to haunt her in the present.

Praise for The Gosling Girl:

The Gosling Girl is one of the saddest, most moving thrillers I’ve read for some time.’ — Alison Flood, The Guardian


A Good Day to Die by Amen Alonge

Pretty Boy’s return to London is motivated by revenge, and he is hell bent on making the person responsible for his exile finally pay. This action-packed thriller by debut novelist Amen Alonge has received praise for its dry humour and cast of unforgettable characters. 

Praise for A Good Day to Die: 

Action-packed, gripping, and wildly entertaining, A Good Day To Die is a cracking crime thriller. Amen Alonge is a powerful new voice in thriller writing and a talent to watch”- Adam Hamdy

A Good Day to Die will be published on 17th February 2022. It is available for pre-order on Hive and other online retailers and bookshops.


All the books mentioned are available from Hive and other online retailers and bookshops.

8,728FansLike
42,923FollowersFollow
19,709FollowersFollow
893SubscribersSubscribe

Latest articles

Related articles